First Love

This poem is about  girl, A, she knows it’s about her. So no secrets here.

Free spirited,
She floats through time.
Her beauty drawing me in.
High as a kite.

She and I soar through the years,
The innocence lost as each second passes
into minutes or years:

First cigarettes.
First drinks.
First loss.
First love.

She will always be
my best friend.
She will always be
my
first
love.

She is a magnet pulling everyone she knows into her.

He loves her.
They dance.
They smoke.
They exist,
as one.

She will always be
his
first
love.

And he loves her in a way that I can’t,
just as I love her in a way that he can’t.

She is a goddess
with the power to love
and be loved.

She is my best friend
and I love her as that.

I will love her for her
Beauty and rebellion,
for her
Brilliance and drive,
for her
Perspective and vibe,
for her
Truth and existence.

I will love her for her.

-cdk

Leave a Reply

