Orange

I don’t know if this poem really makes sense. I started it a while ago, and I just found it in my 875 open word docs. that I haven’t finished yet. Anyway, I just threw it together. Enjoy!

It’s Saturday night,
And I’m sitting on my bed.
Eating orange peppers
And orange carrots.

I’m hungry for more,
But I’m too sick to make anything.
And by that I mean I’m
Physically and mentally too sick.

Is this a sign I should give up?
I’m hungry for more.
From life.
But I’m so tired,
I just can’t seem to grasp it.

So here I am,
Eating orange peppers
And orange carrots
Waiting for my skin to turn.

And I will be orange too,
Because orange is a nice mix.
It’s not bold like red,
or shrieking for attention like yellow.

Orange is calm,
Orange is close to brown
and that
Is my favorite color.

I want to be the orange sunset,
That takes away your breath.
I want to be orange leaves,
That make you want to breathe in cool crisp autumn air.

I want to be orange citrus,
That makes your taste buds holler
I want to be orange
Because orange feels and exudes life.

Can I get to the place where
I don’t need to eat orange vegetables?
Is it logical thinking that their pigment,
Will change my experience of life?

Why not?
Everything’s worth a try.

-cdk

Leave a Reply

