Borderline – SUBMISSION

This fantastic poem was written by my amazing friend, Skye. We both met in dark places and have watched eachother recover in fantastic ways. Much love!

***
Inside my head there is a line.
It lies somewhere near the corpus callosum
And it tears my body apart.
This line creates a border of sorts;
Separating my emotions and changing my thoughts.
What was once grey matter has changed to
Black and white.

Inside my head there is a line.
On one side, fiery flames of a million wrongdoings,
And the other, floods of salted tears course through my brains.
This line creates a border of sorts;
One that people may call insane.
What was once a normal relationship,
Now unstable and probably dead.

Inside my head there is a voice.
The voice that reminds me that I am no good
And a pathetic waste of time on this earth.
Thoughts bombard me and my hippocampus,
Memories of negligence and abuse.
Constant reminders of how I’ve ruined lives
And why I don’t deserve to live.

Inside my head there is a voice.
A soft-spoken, young girl yearning for attention,
Hoping and crossing fingers ever since she was born.
Thoughts bombard me and my hippocampus,
Reminding me of how I’ll never know nurture.
Making sure I know I’m alone and most of all
I can’t be loved.

Inside my head, I have a personality.
It reacts to thoughts of light and good,
And the darkness falters away.
My disorder eats away at me, minute after minute.
But DBT and mindfulness can combat it.
Ways in which to trick my brain and
Make me know I’m worth it.

-Skye R.

Leave a Reply

