Trauma Response – Where I am Blatantly hateful towards Trump, for those who aren’t interested – just a head’s up (but it’s okay because Trump hates me, right??)

I am so sick and so scared. i am unsafe. I will never call him “President” he will always be Fuckface Trump McGee to me.

All the same, I understand people disagree with me and are entitled to their opinions.
My site is an open space, if somebody has a response and wants to write about how they favor Trump, as long as it is appropriate, I will publish it.

*****
When a person experiences trauma,
Their body goes into alert
Fight,
Flight,
Freeze,
Submit,
Attach.
These are our responses to immediate danger.

And with the outcome of the election,
I can feel each of these responses bubbling within me.

I am fighting reality,
I don’t want to accept this –
That ignorance and hate
Can win.
I want to fight back.
I want to kill.

I want to run away, flight.
Canada seems safe?
Maybe Mexico,
A wall will protect me, right?
Because apparently bigotry
Is something our nation is okay with.

I am frozen.
I sit in my car.
And I think about these results
And I fear my future
As a person who has been sexually assaulted,
Who has a disability,
Who is gay.
And I am so very afraid,
That I can’t even act.

I submit,
I don’t want to do this –
But I’m afraid it’s the safest option.
So off to conversion camp I go,
Maybe they’ll gas me off.
History repeats itself.

I guess I lied –
Because I thought all the responses were bubbling
But there is no way
I can attach
To a hateful, ignorant, racist, disgusting human being
Like Trump.
I am so afraid.
The nation is in the hands of an ass.

My stomach drops.
My main response is freeze.
I can’t think.
I can’t move.
I can’t breathe.
I can’t cry.

This is not okay.
I am shaken.
I am torn.
I am scared.
I am offended.
But I am not the only one.
And all the shaken, “crooked, nasty people”
Can engage in fight response.
And we can put an end to this
Before it begins.

Winston Churchill said during WWII, “This is not the end. It is not even the beginning of the end. But it is, perhaps, the end of the beginning.”

With that in mind.
As Trump comes into presidency
(although I hope he is convicted in Dec)
I don’t want this to be the end.
We can fight.

I hope.

…. Or I’ll just move…

-cdk

Leave a Reply

