SUBMISSION and my response…

When I posted after the election, I asked for people to put in their opinions – appropriately. I did not expect the backlash that I got. I know, through this site and other social media I put myself in a vulnerable position by being vocal about my beliefs and experiences – that’s partially why I keep anonymity. Because I have been open about my political and personal beliefs, in the past several days I have received emails and messages on other sites that were just unexpected… and yet expected all the same. Receiving this ‘submission’ in particular stung.

I am going to post it though, because I think this proves exactly what I was saying; how hatred is being validated and now people feel more justified in acting on their anger. With that being said, I am not going to allow threats or hurtful responses stop me from using this site to freely express myself and I hope it doesn’t stop those who have submitted from continuing to express their selves. I guess this was just how this person wanted to be heard.

The submission:

To cdk,

I read your last piece, and I am disgusted with you. A president like Trump and a VP like Pence will put you in your place. You are a disgusting homosexual. You brag about being disabled. Who the fuck does that?? So you’re proud to be a retard? Good for you. And maybe you should have, I don’t know, been a bit stronger to avoid being assaulted.
Trump is practical. He’s going to solve what’s wrong with our country – and that includes people like you.
Welcome to the other side. This is where we make progress.
-A Proud Republican Trump Supporter

My breakdown of the email with responses:

  1. I read your last piece, and I am disgusted with you.
    That’s okay that you’re disgusted. I find that when I am most uncomfortable with what I’m learning or more open to vulnerability I am more likely to learn about that which makes me uncomfortable.
  2. A president like Trump and a VP like Pence will put you in your place.
    I don’t really know what that means. I feel that I am in my place.
  3. You are a disgusting homosexual
    I am a homosexual, yes. Disgusting? I mean, I don’t know if I’ve met you – I guess this is possible – everybody is entitled to their own opinions. It’s a pretty harsh judgment though, don’t you think.
  4. You brag about being disabled. Who the fuck does that?? So you’re proud to be a retard? Good for you.
    I don’t really brag about being disabled. I write about my experiences with my illness. It’s actually my way of fighting stigma, something which you are actually emanating. I don’t prefer to use the term retard, to refer to anybody really. If we have to use it and look into what it means – it is just a delay (I guess for you referring to development or ability). Is there something wrong with someone who doesn’t move quite as fast as you? I’m sorry that it’s hard for you to accept that not everybody is the same, but it is the differences within us that make our world so beautiful. That one person can move fast and the other person can move less fast but maybe do something different at a different level – it’s really remarkable to see. So I guess are you asking me if I’m proud because my disability makes me different, makes me move at a different pace? Well, you see – I don’t really like my disability, but I love that I am who I am because of it – and yes I move at a different pace but I am just as able to accomplish things – so YES I am proud.
  5. And maybe you should have, I don’t know, been a bit stronger to avoid being assaulted.
    Oh, I see – Victim Blaming. Very KellyAnne Conway  of you. No, I shouldn’t have been stronger. Assault isn’t a matter of how physically or emotionally strong I am. It is about somebody abusing their power to hurt another person. Yes, I have been assaulted. And No, it wasn’t my fault.If I could have avoided the situation, Trust me I would have.
  6. Trump is practical. He’s going to solve what’s wrong with our country – and that includes people like you.
    I think Trump may be able to make changes. I don’t agree with most of his policies. The fact that you do, is okay BECAUSE SERIOUSLY YOU ARE ENTITLED TO YOUR OPINION. WHAT’S NOT OKAY IS USING YOUR PRIVILEGE AS AN AGENT TO ABUSE TARGETS IN MINORITY POPULATIONS.I am not a problem to this country. I have strong beliefs. I am vocal. I am active. I am making a change.
  7. Welcome to the other side. This is where we make progress.
    I see what you did there, taking my line from my poem about the other side. Pretty cool, I appreciate that – afterall mimicry is the sweetest form of flattery. I hope you’re right – I hope progress is made. I am afraid how you and I view progress is different. But maybe there can be a middle ground (refer to my poem middle ground #selfpitch)
  8. -A Proud Republican Trump Supporter
    I am glad that you have something to believe in. Purpose is very important.

 

So that’s the letter, I encourage you all to share this. I think it’s important to see what can change in a matter of days as the new President-Elect has influenced people..

One thought on “SUBMISSION and my response…

Leave a Reply

